What is discretionary portfolio management?

Discretionary portfolio management means that the Portfolio Manager (PM) doesn’t need the client’s consent before trading on their behalf. The PM manages every account as per what was defined in the investment policy statement by the client with the guidance of his Portfolio Manager.

How does Claret assist its clients during tax season?

At Claret, we take care of gathering all the tax documents received from the custodian and send our clients a complete package in one mailing. If requested, we can send these documents directly to the client’s accountant. Claret also has statements that are developed specifically for accountants.

As a Claret client, where exactly are my assets being held?

Client securities are held directly with a large Canadian financial institution, which acts as an independent 3rd party custodian.

Can I become a Claret client if my total investment portfolio is worth less than $500,000?

Depending on the client’s circumstances and objectives, a PM could accept client portfolios with a value less than $500,000.

You write that the interests of your clients are directly aligned with the interests of the firm. What do you mean by that comment?

Claret does not earn fees from trading (commissions), instead, we charge a fixed management fee which represents a percentage of the value of each account. This way, there is no possible confusion as to how much you pay and we earn. As a client, you are generally looking for your portfolio to grow in value. As your portfolio increases in size, our remuneration increases accordingly. Therefore, our interests are aligned.

Pages

En quoi consiste la gestion discrétionnaire?

La gestion discrétionnaire implique que nous n’avons pas besoin d’obtenir le consentement du client avant l’achat ou la vente d’un titre. Les gestionnaires de portefeuille chez Claret effectuent les transactions au compte du client selon la politique de placement qui a été établie avec ce dernier.

Comment est-ce que Claret assiste ses clients lors de la période des impôts?

Chez Claret, nous voyons à accumuler tous les documents d’impôt, provenant du fiduciaire, relatifs aux placements de nos clients. La totalité des relevés est envoyée en un seul paquet au client ou à son comptable. Les relevés produits par Claret ont été spécialement conçus pour simplifier la tâche de votre comptable.

En tant que client chez Claret, où exactement sont détenus mes titres?

Tous les titres sont détenus auprès d’une grande institution financière canadienne, qui a le rôle d’un gardien de valeurs indépendant.

Puis-je devenir client si mon portefeuille vaut moins qu’un demi-million de dollars?

Dépendamment des circonstances, un gestionnaire de portefeuille peut accepter un client avec un portefeuille ayant une valeur inférieure à $500 000.

Vous écrivez que les intérêts de vos clients sont directement alignés avec ceux de la firme. Qu’entendez-vous par ce commentaire?

Nous ne sommes pas rémunérés à commission, nous chargeons un frais de gestion fixe qui représente un pourcentage de la valeur de chaque portefeuille. En tant que client, vous recherchez généralement une croissance de la valeur de votre portefeuille. Plus la valeur de votre portefeuille augmente, plus notre rémunération augmente. Nos intérêts sont donc alignés.

Pages